Feeling S.A.D.

Erika: I’m still on the boxer-coach thing, that I’ve mentioned in earlier posts, and I haven’t given up on why my mood from one day to another just changes at the moment.

First I just went with the idea that quite simply “I miss Eric too much.” That seems very likely. And it might still be that.

But wait! For two days I’ve been doing a bit of research online and some deep thinking. And I think I might have another alternative.  There is something called Seasonal Affective Disorder, S.A.D. And it also happens in reverse? 

Maybe I have a little bit of both? Right now my symptoms are what they call “In Reverse”. So what is it?

Screen Shot 2017-04-09 at 11.12.36I think that a lot of people can be sensitive to weather changes, espcially when seasons change between autumn and winter and especially in Sweden where the nights get long and cold, but I’ve never given a second thought about winter turning into spring. 

Yesterday, I was sat in the sun in the afternoon, and felt like awful. But Why? Surely I should be soaking up the sun and taking as much of those D-vitamins in as possible. But instead I feel extremely tired, down and getting very bad headaches. I started thinking (and self analysing with the help of google) and I’m not sure that this is a new thing for me. I just forget, even though it repeats itself every every half a year.


I guess I’m just so used to it, trying to bring myself back up again, that I’ve never really taken an interest in a solution. 

Add to that, my diabetes…. and maybe I’ve forgotten how it is to feel ok. 

The first article I came across mentioned the ancient Greek doctor Hippocrates, 460-377 B. C. Amongst other things, he looked at the connection between people’s health and the changing weather conditions. I find it really interesting that as early as that, they were looking into these connections.


In Sweden we are familiar with depression in the autumn and in the winter, although it’s not a big topic or research area. However, in the U.K and in Germany biometeorology (that’s what it is called) is. 

In Germany, newspapers have almost daily reports about the weather and how you can react to it with symptoms to look out for. From what I can see, most of the articles are about SAD and the days getting shorter and darker. It says a lot about these “autumn depressions” and how common it is both south and north of the Equator. Apparently sunlamp therapy might work although it is not a proven method to rely on.


Just to find out there may be another answer to feeling the way I do, and knowing that I may not be alone, made me feel a hundred times better today. And I’ve fully enjoyed today’s beautiful sunshine. 

All that said, I still miss Eric. He should be here with me. But as he said in his post earlier today, we have so many ways to connect and feel that we are close to each other thanks to technology.


Perhaps it is just that. Maybe I do just miss him. Or maybe it’s a little of all of these things. Humans are a strange thing.

https://www.psychologytoday.com/blog/minding-the-body/201203/when-spring-brings-you-down

http://www.alltomvetenskap.se/nyheter/vadret-och-halsan

http://www.svt.se/nyheter/inrikes/sa-kan-vadret-paverka-hur-du-mar

Leave a Reply

