Bye bye car

I’m back home, finally, and what else than to spend my mornings sat at the balcony, see the city come to life and look out over Öresund. And go for fika or lunch in town, watch people, meet friends and family and watch the city go back to sleep.

I came home and got busy directly. I have now applied for schosaveol! And that means I have to start looking into what I spend my money on, and see what I can be without and where to save. I’ve always had an income and now that will change. It’s a bit scary, to be honest, but at the same time it’s a challenge that I take on as a “game”.

My car story: I got my drivers license nine years ago, and on the same day I bought my first car. I called it Bettan, and it was a graphite grey Mitsubishi Carisma from 2002. I love being on the road, pack the car up and feeling free. I was driving everywhere. It didn’t take me long before I crossed borders and got to Germany and their Autobahn. Free speed and, back then, good and respectful drivers on the road. I know that doesn’t mean it’s safe to drive fast, too fast even, but it is a must at those speeds. And it doesn’t mean I went all in with free speed, but I did cross 200km/h (approximately 120miles/hour). Once! I was younger and didn’t understand people around me got scared for my safety. It was mostly my mum who was concerned and said anything, and she’s my mum and is always concerned. As I got a bit obilarlder I started to realise, and even got a bit scared myself to go too fast. But it’s not only about speed. It’s about the freedom and the way I feel when driving. I love driving longer distance and on my own. I can drive for hours without breaks and I sit and think, watch cars pass by, sing and even talk to myself. My playlist at Spotify is on for the full ride. I only stop singing to have a break or when I see a really expensive car pass by or when I feel the need to get upset with stupid and bad drivers. If anyone would ever put a camera in my car when I’m out driving longer distance, they’d probably lock me up at a mental institution. But it’s my time, and I am a bit of a nutter so I need to get it out from time to time. 😉 Since then I’ve owned a Saab 9.3, a Subaru Impreza and a Volvo V70. I have no idea where this interest, my love for cars and driving, comes from. But now times are changing…

Not that I don’t want to drive anymore, but it’s time to be a bit more economical.costs I don’t really need a car, and when I do I can rent one. So yesterday I sold my car. I feel a bit sad about not having the freedom of just hitting the road whenever, but it will be fine. It’s just a car. My plan was to start riding a bike instead. My plan was good, until I came home. Someone had stolen my saddle when I’ve been away. It was a Brooks saddle, so congratulations to whoever nicked it (they are really expensive in Sweden). I went and bought a new one yesterday and fixed other things on my bike, that needed fixing anyway. I cycled home and went to put my bike in the garage, but it was full at the stand. I realised I still have my garage (sad face), and I have (this is a bit sad, but in a different way) a garage in the garage (?!). So I parked my bike in there and in my head I went “twat”. 😉 Anyway… That’s a huge saving for me and, so far, it feels great!

change

 

A different way of thinking. A new start. And a new way of living.

 

Leave a Reply

